Caiiiirrrr!!! (aka 1st wedding song post)

I’m a bit bored at work (I’m allowed to be, two to three times a year), and have been itching to post something here (I think I’m addicted to this blogging thing) so I dug around and found a document with the lyrics, along with my own translation for this song! I do such things (note down lyrics and come up with my own translation) on a whim when I really, really, REALLY like the song. As aptly described by the title of this post, this song makes my heart MELTZZZZZZ!!! (*cue dreamy expression*)

Zul Huzaimy is an actor I personally call ‘the next Rosyam Nor’ because although he is not conventionally good-looking, he has charisma and a whole lot of charm (go look up his acting in ‘Kau Laksana Bulan’, most episodes available in Youtube!) I guess I go for substance rather than form (Aaron Aziz, for example, does not impress me although a colleague once said I should see his acting in ‘Nora Elena’ and I’d be a convert. I have never watched that drama and neither do I plan to look it up in Youtube.) But anyway! It turns out this Zul Huzaimy is multi-talented! I love his ‘live’ singing in this video; he’s got that Mat Melayu Rocker kind of voice (ever so slight sengau and can tarik to the high notes effortlessly) but has an added touch of class with that piano-playing. He makes me squeal *Zul Huzaimyyyyyy* whenever he appears on drama trailers (which is a rare occurence on Suria) so you can see how high he is on my celebrity crush list. LOL. Ok! Here are the lyrics:

Angin malam sampaikan salamku             Wind of the night convey my regards

Moga dirinya tahu                                           [So that] hopefully she knows [of this]

Terang bulan kulihat wajahmu                   [In] the moonlight I see your face

Bintang-bintang pun senyum                     Thus the stars smile 

 

Hati senang di sisimu sayang                       [My] heart is happy [to be] by your side, my love

Kini kembali padamu                                      Now [that I am] back with you

Bibir senyum dukaku pun hilang               [My] lips smile and my sorrow disappears

Moga kekal selalu                                            May [it] remain [so] always

 

Dingin malam menusuk di kalbu              The coolness of the night pierces to the soul

Terasa hangat sentuhmu                             [I] feel the warmth of your touch

Pohon-pohon pun tunduk setuju             Even the trees bow in agreement

Bagai mimpi fantasiku                                   Just like [in] my fantasy dream

 

Lembut manja kubelai patungku                [With] tender affection I caress my doll

Terukir senyuman indah                               A beautiful smile is carved

Tiap malam ku menghitung waktu            Every night I count the time

Bila ‘kan ku bersamamu                                 When can I be with you?

 

Dingin malam menusuk di kalbu               The coolness of the night pierces to the soul

Terasa hangat sentuhmu                              [I] feel the warmth of your touch

Pohon-pohon pun tunduk setuju             Even the trees bow in agreement

Bagai mimpi fantasiku                                   Just like [in] my fantasy dream

 

Lagu ini kutulis untukmu                              This song I write for you

Melodi dari sang bayu                                    [Its] melody from the gentle breeze

Buih-buih mengukir namamu                     Bubbles [on the seashore] carve your name

Bunga, I love you                                             ‘Flower’, I love you

 

One reason why I love Malay songs is the beauty of their lyrics. I believe as a people our collective souls are  close to nature, hence this is reflected in the lyrics of good Malay songs. Besides that, I would say that a trait prized by, even characterizing the Malays is kesantunan (how do I translate this? Modesty? Propriety? Decorum?); hence one would be hard pressed to find vulgar or obscene lyrics in Malay, even in love songs (which is unfortunately rampant in English songs).

Anyway, pardon my apparent frivolity and bimbo-groupie tendencies in the earlier part of this post. You gotta give a girl her moments sometimes. ;p

Leave a Reply

