I am a Muslim Woman and I Chose to Have an Abortion

Coincidentally, this appeared on my WordPress Reader today, just a day after I reblogged ‘an alternative view on abortion, or, a woman’s right to have one’ . So here’s an alternative Muslim view, from a Muslim woman who has had one done.

Something to think about: Any man in the same familial, social, academic and professional position as this woman would not have to grapple with such a difficult decision and the pressure of societal aftermath, simply because he cannot get pregnant and cannot breastfeed. He is perceived as his own person, and rarely in relation to other people (as opposed to a woman who is often seen as someone’s daughter, wife or mother). A man hardly has to think: should I or should I not become a father to yet another child, considering that it would set back my academic and professional pursuit by a number of years?

Love, InshAllah

Muslim-woman-praying
I am a Muslim woman and I chose to have an abortion. There are a few things you should know about me: I consider my religion to be the defining aspect of my life; I am an active member of my community, particularly in the area of women’s education and empowerment; and, I am a wife and mother who is nursing her baby while pursuing a post-graduate degree. I also do plan on having more children in the future, God willing.

I also want to make clear that I do not promote abortion as means of routine contraception, particularly in a world rife with sexual promiscuity, but I do believe that under certain circumstances, Islam does and should permit it. I have chosen to write anonymously about this experience in order to respect my family’s privacy, but I am prepared to deal with the potentially harsh criticism and judgment a…

View original post 1,945 more words

Leave a Reply

