Hipster Muslim, Slouching toward Mecca & other fabulousness

Reblogging this so that I can come back to it and devour the Absolutely Fabulous reads one at a time.🙂

Love, InshAllah

Absolutely Fabulous: logo BBC/Lionheart Source: Warner Home Video Direct

Some phenomenal recent reads:

Author, LoveinshAllah.com editor, and anthology contributor Deonna Kelli in Slouching toward Mecca:

“I sat in many church pews as a child and I dipped in many waters. My paternal grandmother made sure that I had a proper Methodist christening. Thirteen years later, I dunked into Southern Baptist waters by my own conviction. Men in my family did not take me to church or talk too much about God. By the time I drank from the Zamzam Well in Mecca, men had started to determine how I interpreted my faith.

That was fine – for a while.”

Novelist, academic and contributor to the upcoming Salaam, Love: American Muslim Men on Love, Sex & Intimacy (February 2014) anthology Haroon Moghul writes about his visit to Jerusalem in A Place for Women:

“Though [American Muslims] have gotten some kind of handle on pluralism, over gender we still…

View original post 443 more words

Leave a Reply

