4 Pics 1 Word

It’s been two weeks that we’re officially husband and wife. Yet it feels longer; in fact it feels like forever, in a good way. It feels like forever, in the sense that this is what life is meant to be like, and I’m no longer living in suspension. I’m firmly anchored now, and I feel safe and contented.

The transition has been easier than I expected, and hopefully it would be the same way when work officially resumes for me next week.

I hope I’m not just feeling this way because of the novelty of a different way of life. I’m known to be prone to ennui, but I’ll put in the effort to keep it at bay. With marriage comes more freedom to explore each other, life and the world together, and I’m looking forward to the adventure!πŸ™‚

Every other day, I have been looking at our unofficial wedding photos taken by my sister and cousins, and the 2 or 3 posted up on social media by my official photographers. Last week, when we went sembah-sembah (the tradition of newlyweds visiting the elders, aunts and uncles for my side of the family), one common question kept cropping up: Gambar dah siap? (Are your wedding photos ready?)

My husband noticed how everyone in my family seems to mention the wedding photos. I guess it’s like a family ritual; newlyweds would come visit and lug around bring along their official wedding photo albums for anyone who is interested to see (usually the aunts and female cousins haha). Even my dear grandmother asked about our wedding photos!

But as it is, the photos are not ready yet. We are probably the one odd couple who goes visiting so soon after the wedding, within a week! I think my sister and brother-in-law, and my other recently wedded cousins probably went visiting at least a month after they got married.

For our case, we can’t help rushing everything because the mister’s leave was ending (he started work on Tuesday) and he works crazy shifts, and once the new year starts he’s gonna get even busier since he would start his final year of uni. We didn’t want to hold it off for too long, lest we become pengantin basi my parents get offended so we promised them we’d go visiting right after our honeymoon.

I’ve been withholding the itch to ask our official photographers about when our photos would be ready, since I didn’t want to come across as a bridezilla and the husband thought it would be too soon to ask. But after catching me looking at our unofficial wedding photos for the umpteenth time last night, he has given me the green light to contact them! I haven’t done it though, the procrastinator that I am. Or maybe I’m just delaying gratification and savouring the anticipation with the idea that the longer I delay asking, the more time they’d have to get them photos ready, and the more likely I’d get a favourable reply when I do ask and my heart can skip in joy! Hahah dari belum jadi bini orang sampai dah jadi bini orang perangai berangan tetap maintain. Hahaha.

In the meantime, this is what I put together while waiting for my mister to wake up for our morning date *giggles*:

image

I can’t decide which of our four outfits I love more! The ones I designed myself, or the ones from the bridal his mom chose (which was so worth the small sacrifice I had to make)!

Can you guess the 1 word that these 4 pics represent? Let’s play!πŸ˜‰

Posted from WordPress for Android

3 thoughts on “4 Pics 1 Word

    • That’s not a sari… if I’m not wrong, it’s called a lehengga, the top and skirt kind. It’s from Aidah Bridal at Joo Chiat. They don’t have outfits for plus-sized grooms, though, so my husband got his outfit custom-made from Little India.πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

